Praetor (Nova Roma)

From NovaRoma
Jump to: navigation, search


 Home| Latíné | Deutsch | Español | Français | Italiano | Magyar | Português | Română | Русский | English

Our magistracies

Aedilis curulis
Aedilis plebis
Tribunus plebis
Tribunus militum

Praefectus rei publicae administrandae
Curator aerarii
Curator rei informaticae


Classification of magistracies

Magistracy overview

The praetor is the second highest executive magistrate and vice-president of the Nova Roman Republic (Nova Roma, Inc.). The praetores are considered as lower colleagues and deputies for the consules. There are two praetores in Nova Roma and their principal duty is to fill a secondary leadership role in the government, to oversee and to administer the judicial system of Nova Roma (the conflict resolution system within the organization), to carry our special tasks, be in charge of assigned projects and to represent the citizens who are not part of any province of Nova Roma.

The eligibility requirements for praetor are set by the lex Tullia annalis: only those assidui can be candidates who are at least 30 years old, and have previously held the quaestorship combined with aediliship, or with the tribuneship of the plebs, or with the vigintiviratus. The praetors enter office on Kal. Ian. (1 January) each year.

The current praetors of the year M. Cotta C. Petronio cos. MMDCCLXXVII a.u.c. are:

Duties and powers of the praetors in Nova Roma

The Constitution of Nova Roma says about the praetores:

3. Praetor. Two praetors shall be elected by the Comitia Centuriata to serve a term lasting one year. They shall have the following honors, powers, and obligations:
a. To hold the lesser regia potestas et imperium and the auspicia maiora, and to exercise, even when the use of imperium is restricted, full iurisdictio, the ius coercitionis, the ius intercessionis, the ius edicendi, the ius agendi cum populo, the ius agendi cum Senatu, to deputize for the consuls in any of their powers and duties; and to have the honor of being preceded by six lictors; the praetors are responsible for the administration of justice and judicial procedures in Nova Roma which shall be defined and regulated by law;
b. To issue those edicta necessary to advance the mission and function of Nova Roma and to administer the law;
c. To call the Senate, the Comitia Centuriata, and the Comitia Tributa to order;
d. To pronounce intercessio against another praetor or magistrate of lesser authority;
e. To appoint apparitors and other officers to assist with administrative and other tasks, as they shall see fit.

The praetors are, like in ancient Rome, charged of the organization of the Ludi Apollinares, in the first part of July.

Historical overview

Fasti praetorii: the list of Nova Roman praetors

As of Fl. Vedio M. Cassio cos. MMDCCLI a.u.c., the Praetorship has been held by forty-six individuals.

  • Three have held the office twice.
  • Twenty-two (48%) went on to become Consul (indicated with 'COS.')
  • Twelve (26%) went on to become Censor (indicated with 'CEN.')
  • Three held the office after having previously served as Consul.
  • Two held the office after having previously served as Censor.
  • Five did not complete their terms as Praetor (one became Consul Suffectus, three resigned, one disappeared).

Fl. Vedio M. Cassio cos. MMDCCLI a.u.c.

L. Equitio Dec. Iunio cos. MMDCCLII a.u.c.

Q. Maximo M. Minucio cos. MMDCCLIII a.u.c.

Fl. Vedio (II) M. Cassio (II) cos. MMDCCLIV a.u.c.

M. Octavio L. Sulla (II) cos. MMDCCLV a.u.c.

K. Buteone T. Labieno cos. MMDCCLVI a.u.c.

Cn. Salvio Cn. Equitio cos. MMDCCLVII a.u.c.

Fr. Apulo C. Laenate cos. MMDCCLVIII a.u.c.

K. Buteone Po. Minucia cos. MMDCCLIX a.u.c.

L. Arminio Ti. Galerio cos. MMDCCLX a.u.c.

M. Moravio T. Iulio cos. MMDCCLXI a.u.c.

M. Curiatio M. Iulio cos. MMDCCLXII a.u.c.

P. Memmio K. Buteone (II) cos. MMDCCLXIII a.u.c.

P. Ullerio C. Equitio cos. MMDCCLXIV a.u.c.

Cn. Caesare C. Tullio cos. MMDCCLXV a.u.c.

L. Sulla (III) cos. sine collega MMDCCLXVI a.u.c.

St. Cornelia C. Aemilio cos. MMDCCLXVII a.u.c.

M. Pompeio Sex. Lucilio cos. MMDCCLXVIII a.u.c.

Cn. Lentulo Alexandro T. Domitio cos. MMDCCLXIX a.u.c.


Sex. Lucilio C. Claudio P. Annaeo Q. Catulo tr. mil. cos. pot. MMDCCLXX a.u.c.


C. Claudio T. Domitio (II) cos. MMDCCLXXI a.u.c.

Q. Arrio P. Annaeo cos. MMDCCLXXII a.u.c.

Q. Arrio (II) T. Domitio (III) cos. MMDCCLXXIII a.u.c.

Q. Arrio (III) A. Tullia cos. MMDCCLXXIV a.u.c.

Sex. Lucilio (II) A. Tullia (II) cos. MMDCCLXXV a.u.c.

C. Cethego Q. Arrio (IV) cos. MMDCCLXXVI a.u.c.

M. Cotta C. Petronio cos. MMDCCLXXVII a.u.c.

Personal tools