Provincia America Transmississippiana (Nova Roma)

From NovaRoma
Jump to: navigation, search


 Home| Latíné | Deutsch | Español | Français | Italiano | Magyar | Português | Română | Русский | English

Provincia America Transmississippiana.gifProvincia America Transmississippiana

150px}} Gnaeus Cornelius Lentulus

Proquaestor pro praetore


Provincia America Transmississippiana comprises the States of Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North and South Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming of the USA. This province of Nova Roma is the legal successor of Provincia America Texia, America Gallica, America Oregonensis, Alasca et Havaia, Provincia Minnesota, Provincia Dacota, America Missuriensis, America Nebrascensis, America Montana of L. Sulla (III) cos. sine collega MMDCCLXVI a.u.c., united on Non. Oct. Q. Arrio (II) T. Domitio (III) cos. MMDCCLXXIII a.u.c. under the senatus consultum de provinciis ordinandis. It legally also continues the two original provinces of this area, America Boreoccidentalis and America Medioccidentalis Superior.

Cn. Cornelius Lentulus, the temporary quaestor pro praetore (governor) of America Transmississippiana has been chosen by the senate, due to his successful work in revitalizing other inactive subdivisions of Nova Roma, and has been given the task to create a basic structure and foundation for Transmississippiana, and to give it back to local leaders as soon as possible. His title quaestor pro praetore indicates his temporary governorship, because he was the quaestor of the previous proconsul of the predecessor provinces who has unfortunately passed away, and quaestor Cn. Lentulus is now standing in for the previous governor by the will of the senate until a permanent successor is found.


Provincial communities

There is an active Nova Roman community in Texas within America Transmississippiana, the community of the Nova Roman Legio XIII Gemina, founded by P. Quinctius Petrus Augustinus, focusing on Roman military traditions and reenactment.

Online infrastructure

The province has no official forum as of yet, and its organization is being launched in the first months of the current year.

About the name of the province

It was a common practice of the Romans to name provinces based on geographic features like rivers or mountains that bordered the province: they applied the prefix "cis-" when the province was "here from...", and the prefix "trans-" when it was "over", "on the farther side of...". During the history of the United States of America, Trans-Mississippi was a common name of the geographic area west of the Mississippi River during the 19th century. The area included Arkansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Texas, Indian Territory (now Oklahoma), and many other territories. The term "Trans-Mississippi" was historically used to refer to any land "across the Mississippi" (or the entire western two-thirds of the United States). The postage stamps of the Trans-Mississippi Exposition Issue are considered some of the most beautiful stamps ever issued by the United States, and a complete set of the "Trans-Miss" is highly prized. In 1998, a set of stamps using designs derived from the original issue was issued to commemorate its 100th anniversary. Nova Roma was founded exactly that year.

About the flag and logo of the province

The current vexillum and emblem of the province is intended to be used as a website logo only. The recommendation of the current governor is to use the official flag of Nova Roma at public events (it is allowed to be used, this is just a recommendation). In this emblem, the crimson red and the golden wreath of the flag of Nova Roma encompass the American eagle, because this province covers half of the USA; but this eagle stands here not only for the USA. The eagle is equally a Roman symbol, and it is an overall symbol of the Native American tribes living in the areas that is covered by our province's area. Part of the USA seal eagle within the wreath is the Latin motto "E pluribus unum", "one united from many", which also neatly expresses that Transmississippiana is a merger province conglomerated from the many inactive and dysfunctional former provinces of Nova Roma in this region. The eagle carries the fleur-de-lis of French Louisiana, the French Vice-royalty which covered approximately the same territories that Transmississppiana covers now. It also features the pelican, the emblem of the modern State of Louisiana (also part of Transmississippiana). Between the fleurs-de-lis, there is a Native American symbol, a Lacota national sign, in honor of the original inhabitants and the many Native American tribes that ruled the states' territories that are in the same territory as Transmississippiana of Nova Roma. The constitutional four letters, the SPQR, under these symbols make the emblem complete. The red-white framing stripes refer to the American red and white stripes.

Personal tools