Provincia Britannia - Map & Guide (Nova Roma)

From NovaRoma
Jump to: navigation, search

 Home| Latíné | Deutsch | Español | Français | Italiano | Magyar | Português | Română | Русский | English

Britannia is divided into civitates. These are based on the tribal areas of pre-Roman Britain, which in turn formed administrative civitates in the Roman province.

For convenience, however, the modern civitates follow (with one exception) the boundaries of modern counties, unitary authorities, bailiwicks, and dependencies. Also for convenience Londinium and its environs, which in ancient times were in the territories of the Trinovantes and the Cantii, is now classed as a separate civitas.

Since the entire province is administered centrally by the governor and his assistants, the civitates currently serve no administrative function in the province. They are, however, a traditional and useful way to organize and classify places and events.

The civitates of Britannia

1 Caledonii

2 Taexali

3 Aemodae insulae

4 Damnonii

5 Venicones

6 Orcades insulae

7 Novantae

8 Selgovae

9 Votadini

10 Manavia insula

11 Carvetii

12 Lopocares

13 Setantii

14 Brigantes

15 Parisi

16 Ordovices

17 Deceangli

18 Cornovii

19 Corieltauvi

20 Demetae

21 Silures

22 Dobunni

23 Catuvellauni

24 Iceni

25 Trinovantes

26 Dumnonii

27 Durotriges

28 Atrebates

29 Belgae

30 Regni

31 Londinium

32 Cantii

33 Casseterides insulae

34 Sarnia

35 Caesarea



The Caledonii inhabit Na H-Eileann An Iar and Highland.


The Taexali inhabit Moray, Aberdeenshire, and Aberdeen City.

Aemodae insulae

The Aemodae insulae are the Shetland islands.


The Damnonii inhabit Stirling and Agryll and Bute.


The Venicones inhabit Clamannanshire, Fife, Perth and Kinross, Angus, and Dundee City.

Orcades insulae

The Orcades insulae are the Orkney islands.


The Novantae inhabit South Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, and Dumfries and Galloway.


The Selgovae inhabit South Lanarkshire, North Lanarkshire, Inverclyde, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, West Dunbartonshire, and East Dunbartonshire.


The Votadini inhabit Scottish Borders, Falkirk, West Lothian, Edinburgh City, Midlothian, and East Lothian.

Manavia insula

Manavia insula is the isle of Man.


The Carvetii inhabit Cumbria.


The Lopocares inhabit Durham, Northumberland, Newcastle Upon Tyne, Gateshead, North Tyneside, South Tyneside, and Sunderland.


The Setantii inhabit Wirral, Sefton, Liverpool, Knowsley, St Helens, Wigan, Bolton, Lancashire, Blackpool, and Blackburn with Darwen.


The Brigantes inhabit Derbyshire, City of Derby, Salford, Trafford, Bury, Manchester, Rochdale, Oldham, Tameside, Stockport, Kirklees, Barnsley, Sheffield, Wakefield, Rotherham, Doncaster, Calderdale, Bradford, Leeds, York, North Yorkshire, Darlington, Stockton-On-Tees, Middlesbrough, Hartlepool, and Redcar and Cleveland.


The Parisi inhabit the East Riding of Yorkshire and the City of Kingston Upon Hull.


The Ordovices inhabit Powys, Gwynedd, and the isle of Anglesey.


The Deceangli inhabit Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, and Wrexham.


The Cornovii inhabit Shropshire, City of Wolverhampton, Walsall, Sandwell, Dudley, Birmingham, Telford and Wrekin, Staffordshire, Cheshire, City of Stoke-On-Trent, Halton, and Warrington.


The Corieltauvi inhabit Leicestershire, City of Leicester, Rutland, City of Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, and North East Lincolnshire.


The Demetae inhabit Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire, and Ceredigion.


The Silures inhabit Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Bridgend, the Vale of Glamorgan, Rhondda Cynon and Taff, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent, Torfaen, Newport, and Monmouthshire.


The Dobunni inhabit City of Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Bath and North East Somerset, Gloucestershire, County of Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Warwickshire, Solihull, and Coventry.


The Catuvellauni inhabit Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Hertforshire, Luton, Northamptonshire, Milton Keynes, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, and City of Peterborough.


The Iceni inhabit Norfolk.


The Trinovantes inhabit Essex, Thurrock, Southend on Sea, and Suffolk.


The Dumnonii inhabit Cornwall, City of Plymouth, and Devon.


The Durotriges inhabit Somerset, North Somerset, Dorset, Poole, and Bournemouth.


The Atrebates inhabit Wiltshire, Swindon, West Berkshire, Reading, Wokingham, Bracknell Forest, Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough, Reading, and the Hampshire boroughs of Basingstoke & Deane, Hart, and Rushmoor.


The Belgae inhabit City of Southampton, the isle of Wight, City of Portsmouth, and Hampshire except the boroughs of Basingstoke & Deane, Hart, and Rushmoor.


The Regni inhabit Surrey and West Sussex.


The civitas of Londinium comprises the Greater London area.


The Cantii inhabit City of Brighton & Hove, East Sussex, Kent, and Medway.

Casseterides insulae

The Casseterides insulae are the isles of Scilly.


The civitas of Sarnia comprises the bailiwick of Guernsey.


The civitas of Caesarea comprises the bailiwick of Jersey.

Personal tools