Provincia America Boreoccidentalis (Nova Roma)

From NovaRoma
Jump to: navigation, search

ARCHIVE DATE: 01 NOV 2766 (2013)


America Boreoccidentalis

Nova Roma

Marcus Pompeius Caninus governor (legatus pro praetore)

Provinciae America Boreoccidentalis (the province of northwestern America) is one of the geographic administrative provinces of Nova Roma.

Created in the year L. Equitio Dec. Iunio cos. MMDCCLII a.u.c., the provincia comprises the US states of Idaho, Oregon, Washington and Alaska. It covers 817,239 square miles, with a total macronational population of around 12.4 million inhabitants — a bit more than 15 people per square mile!

The most densely populated areas center on the provincia's two major port cities, Seattle and Portland, with a large number of cities in the western portion of the states of Oregon and Washington averaging a consistently higher population than the arid eastern portions of the two states.


America Boreoccidentalis











Northwestern Washington has a much higher population density due to its topography: 3,387,427 people live in just 16,007 square miles of territory, creating a population density of more than 211 persons. Rural southwest Washington has 1,277,814 people living in 8,707 square miles of territory for a population density of nearly 147 persons per square mile. Conversely, Eastern Washington, though much larger in area, is more sparsely populated, though its geography and industry supports many more cities than eastern Oregon. With 1,288,857 people living in 39,531 square miles of territory, the population density is just over 32 people per square mile.

The state of Washington is divided into three regios:

Regio I

Vasintonia Boreoccidentalis (Northwest Washington).

Includes the counties of: Clallam, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Mason, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston, Whatcom.

Regio II

Vasintonia Austroccidentalis (Southwest Washington)

Includes the macronational counties of Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Pacific, Pierce, Skamania, Wakiakum.

Regio III

Vasintonia Orentalis (Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho)

Includes the counties of Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend d'Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman, Yakima.


Northwestern Oregon has 2,306,441 people living in 16,886 square miles, or 136.5 per square mile. Southwestern Oregon's macronational population is 956,910 persons living in 26,205 square miles of territory, with a population density of 36.5 people per square mile. The eastern half of the state is very sparsely populated, with not quite four people per square mile. Just 209,516 people live in 52,904 square miles of territory.

The state of Oregon is divided into three regios to facitlitate local governance:

Regio IV

Oregonia Boreoccidentalis (Northwest Oregon).

Includes the counties of Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Hood River, Jefferson, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington.

Regio V

Oregonia Austroccidentalis (Southwest Oregon).

Includes the counties of Coos, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lane.

Regio VI

Oregonia Orientalis (Eastern Oregon and Southern Idaho).

Includes the counties of Baker, Crook, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa.


The smallest state in the Provincia is Idaho, with 1,321,006 people living in 82,747 square miles. The population density is just 16 people per square mile. Further, the northern "panhandle" of the state is virtually cut off from the southern portion by nearly impassable mountains, so practically, northern Idaho is completely separate from southern Idaho. Northern Idaho is included in Regio III (Vasintonia Orentalis) while Southern Idaho is included in Regio VI (Oregonia Orientalis) as detailed above.


Alaska is the largest state, dwarfing the other three states. From the Aleutian Islands in the west to its border with western Canada in the east, the state is wider than the lower 48 US states combined! Alaska has ever so much more land than people: with a macronational population of just under 700,000 there are only 1.1 people per square mile living in America's last frontier.

Regio VII

Includes all of Alaska.

Personal tools