The Cista

In ancient days, voting was done by dropping small wax-covered tablets into an urn known as a cista. We have adopted the same secret ballot system with the assistance of modern technology. Voting takes place in three separate assemblies; the Comitia Centuriata (consisting of all citizens grouped into centuries), the Comitia Populi Tributa (consisting of all citizens grouped into tribes), and the Comitia Plebis Tributa (consisting of only plebeian citizens grouped into tribes). The voting ballot is thus divided into three sections, one for each assembly.

pat_byza.gif (854 bytes)

Votes and Elections Page / Master Index