Revision as of 06:13, 16 August 2008
This website will set a temporary session cookie whenever you visit the site. If you do not intend to ever log in, you may deny this cookie, but you cannot log in without it. It will be deleted when you close your browser session.
More cookies may be set when you log in, to avoid typing in your user name (or optionally password) on your next visit. These last up to 30 days. You may clear these cookies after use if you are using a public machine and don't wish to expose your username to future users of the machine. (If so, clear the browser cache as well.)
Your password is your only guarantee of the integrity of your edit history. All users are encouraged to select strong passwords and to never share them. No one shall knowingly expose the password of another user to public release either directly or indirectly.
Every time you visit a web page, you send a lot of information to the web server. Most web servers routinely maintain access logs with a portion of this information, which can be used to get an overall picture of what pages are popular, what other sites link to this one, and what web browsers people are using. It is not the intention of Nova Roma Inc. to use this information to keep track of legitimate users. These logs are used to produce the site statistics that are used to maintain and improve this site.
Log data may be examined by developers in the course of solving technical problems and in tracking down badly-behaved web spiders that overwhelm the site.
IP addresses of users, derived either from those logs or from records in the database may be used to correlate usernames and network addresses of edits in investigating abuse of the wiki, including the suspected use of malicious "sockpuppets" (duplicate accounts), vandalism, harassment of other users, or disruption of the wiki.
Data on users, such as the times at which they edited and the number of edits they have made are publicly available via "user contributions" lists, the "Recent changes" report, page histories and possibly other sources.
You may provide your e-mail address in your Preferences and enable other logged-in users to send email to you through the wiki. Your address will not be revealed to them unless you respond, or possibly if the email bounces. You can remove your email address from your preferences at any time to prevent it being used.
If you do not provide an email address, or if you lose access to the e-mail account that you used when you created your editor's account, you will not be able to reset your password if you forget it. However, you may follow these procedures to attempt to restore your access.
Deletion of content
Removing text from this Mediawiki-based website does not permanently delete it. In normal articles, anyone can look at a previous version and see what was there. If an article is "deleted", any user with "administrator" access on the wiki, that is, the Wikimagisters, can see what was deleted. Information can be permanently deleted by those people with access to the servers, but there is no guarantee this will happen except in response to legal action.